unemployment

I believe that unemployment has brought me closer to my husband.  Of course my views on this matter are only one side of the coin but I’m enjoying this phase of our life right now.  I enjoy having a husband who doesn’t come home every night, defeated from his day.  

I’ve always been so proud of my husband, his integrity, his loyalty, his high standards and I’ve fallen in love with him all over again seeing those things come to the surface once again, untainted by “it’s business” by budgets and numbers and a request for him to forgo doing his best and instead, do his fastest.

I’ve fallen in love with him all over again for his confidence in himself as a man.  For seeing as clear as day, once again, that his job does not define who he is as a person.  That it is not an intgral part of his identity.  

I’ve fallen in love with him again for his loyalty, for not letting being let go by his brother-in-law hurt his relationship with family.  For letting it make it even stronger, for reaching out and offering himself as a sounding board to said brother-in-law when he knows the stress of potentially losing his business or laying off another employee has to be debilitating at times.  

I’ve fallen in love with him again for his desire to stay busy, for his time management, for his conscious decision every day to make the most of this time, to do some soul searching and use this time to his advantage, to make our home, to plan our future, to focus on himself and us.

I know this economy stinks, and that in so many ways we are so blessed to be able to live on my income, to be in a place where the fact that he is unemployed doesn’t keep us up at night.  To appreciate the sacrifices we’ve had to make, and each other even more.

Because of this, I can’t say this was a bad thing that happened, him being laid off.  I can honestly say it was a blessing.  This blessing has stripped away everything, and has brought me closer to my husband, my love, my best friend.  For that, I am truly thankful.

4 Responses to “unemployment”

  1. That’s amazing. I’m so glad that’s the experience you guys are having. I’ve seen it go very differently. And I only want the best for you!

  2. I agree with Sizzle – so very glad you are in a good spot despite circumstances that could be really bad.

  3. I heart him. And you.

  4. That was really beautiful!

Leave a Reply

