good intentions

Ever since e was laid off, we’ve witnessed an absolute outpouring of support from friends, family and strangers.  Really, we’ve felt so absolutely loved and cared about and it just kind of overwhelms us.  However, we’ve also noticed that there has been a lot of “God has a plan” and “when one door closes, another one opens” type comments.  We whole heartedly believe this, we really do.  Honestly, I’ve seen so many coincidences leading up to this lay off that my faith is strong.  It’s just, there is something about someone just throwing that out there without a lot of thought behind it.  I know people don’t really know what to say when something like this happens, and I completely recognize the good intentions, I’m just starting to equate comments like “when one door opens…” to “they really are in a better place now…” when you’re grieving the passing of someone you love.  I’m looking for a more thought out comment I guess, and I may be asking too much.

3 Responses to “good intentions”

  1. I can see what you mean. I think with job loss (and with death, frankly) people are so afraid. They don’t want that to happen to them so they freeze up when trying to be compassionate. Losing your job SUCKS. This economy SUCKS. And I’m mad about it. I’m seeing too many people hurting because of it. It makes me want to throw things! But I know that gets us nowhere. I have no idea how it will all pan out but hoping for the best and believing in the best are a lot less exhausting than being pissed I suppose, right?

  2. mainlyclearskies Says:

    I think when someone we know/love loses their job, a selfish side of us thinks, Thank God it’s not me. But it’s not like we’re going to say that out loud. So we flounder and end up saying something trite. I do believe that it is (we are) all part of a greater plan though.

    Thanks for commenting so I could find you.

  3. When people say things like that, it makes me want to hit them, good intentions or not. 🙂 Not only because it kind of belittles what you’re going through but because I don’t like the idea that we don’t have control over how things go.

Leave a Reply

